|
Author | Topic: shtyle.fm is a scam (Read 5,351 times) |
simmo123 Senior Member
  member is offline
![[avatar] [avatar]](http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/5102/olesimmo.jpg)
Ole Simmo
Joined: Mar 2009 Gender: Male  Posts: 1,353 Location: Baldivis W Australia
|  | shtyle.fm is a scam « Thread Started on Oct 26, 2010, 12:48pm » | |
Hi folks just to let you know that i have just received an email from a mob who call themselves Shtyle.fm,the email was supposedly from a regular forum member,it invites me to be a friend,they request personal details pics etc,i checked it out on the net & found out that it is a big scam,so if any other forum members receives one of these emails be warned,they apparently get into your hotmail.I will contact the member concerned just to let him know...Simmo
| |
|
frank Guest
|  | Re: shtyle.fm is a scam « Reply #1 on Oct 26, 2010, 1:41pm » | |
I got one but deleted it without opening.Did yours have a number next to senders name ?
| |
|
Emerald Midi Administrator
          member is offline
![[avatar] [avatar]](http://img293.imageshack.us/img293/1517/elvisglitterep3.gif)
24/7 Midi enthusiast
Joined: Mar 2009 Gender: Male  Posts: 4,459 Location: Co. Tipperary, Ireland
|  | Re: shtyle.fm is a scam « Reply #2 on Oct 26, 2010, 7:41pm » | |
Interestingly I got an invite to this from a prominent member of this forum, I joined but have had no problems...mind you I did not grant them access to my email contacts, they were a bit insistent but I eventually skipped passed it.
I must look into this more
|
Pat. *********************** Forum Founder and Chief Administrator. Members are advised to read all GUIDELINES before posting, making or replying to requests, etc... NB: Posts not conforming to said guideline run the risk of being edited or removed without explanation. |
|
Emerald Midi Administrator
          member is offline
![[avatar] [avatar]](http://img293.imageshack.us/img293/1517/elvisglitterep3.gif)
24/7 Midi enthusiast
Joined: Mar 2009 Gender: Male  Posts: 4,459 Location: Co. Tipperary, Ireland
|  | Re: shtyle.fm is a scam « Reply #3 on Oct 26, 2010, 7:56pm » | |
Just did some research and according to Norton they're safe.
Check it out here: http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?name=shtyle.fm
Seems if you put anything into google someone, somewhere will say "scam," of course it might be true, but according to Norton they're OK and safe.
|
Pat. *********************** Forum Founder and Chief Administrator. Members are advised to read all GUIDELINES before posting, making or replying to requests, etc... NB: Posts not conforming to said guideline run the risk of being edited or removed without explanation. |
|
freeway Global Moderator
        member is offline
![[avatar] [avatar]](http://www.emoticonswallpapers.com/avatar/sports/Chelsea-FC-animated.gif)
Joined: Mar 2009 Gender: Male  Posts: 1,940 Location: Limerick/Tipp Border Ireland
| |
simmo123 Senior Member
  member is offline
![[avatar] [avatar]](http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/5102/olesimmo.jpg)
Ole Simmo
Joined: Mar 2009 Gender: Male  Posts: 1,353 Location: Baldivis W Australia
|  | Re: shtyle.fm is a scam « Reply #5 on Oct 26, 2010, 10:38pm » | |
Hi Barry thanks for all the info,sorry if i pressed the panic button i guess i just erred on the side of caution,i haven't blocked your email address so all is as normal or as we like to say over here "no worries" best wishes... Simmo
| |
|
infolena Full Member
 member is offline
Joined: Mar 2009 Gender: Female  Posts: 581 Location: Sweden
|  | Re: shtyle.fm is a scam « Reply #6 on Oct 27, 2010, 5:22am » | |
Mystery solved! Thanks Terry for bringing this up. I got on too (from Rickly69), didnīt open it but wondered of course what it was about and how they got my mail address. Now itīs going straight into the bin.
Lena
| |
|
rainbow Full Member
 member is offline
![[avatar] [avatar]](http://www.fileden.com/files/2009/9/15/2575630/Rainbow_1.jpg)
![[homepage] [homepage]](http://images.proboards.com/buttons/www_sm.gif) Joined: Mar 2009 Gender: Male  Posts: 511 Location: Cambridge, UK
|  | Re: shtyle.fm is a scam « Reply #7 on Oct 27, 2010, 6:55am » | |
I received one this morning ... found it in my spam folder ... consigned it to the bin. No worries Barry.
|
'It's not where you take things from ... it's where you take them to' (Jean-Luc Godard) |
|
Jacqui Advanced Senior Member
  member is offline
![[avatar] [avatar]](http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb301/Pat13wx/tinkerbellfly.gif)
Joined: Mar 2009 Gender: Female  Posts: 2,338 Location: Essex
| |
freeway Global Moderator
        member is offline
![[avatar] [avatar]](http://www.emoticonswallpapers.com/avatar/sports/Chelsea-FC-animated.gif)
Joined: Mar 2009 Gender: Male  Posts: 1,940 Location: Limerick/Tipp Border Ireland
| |
Jacqui Advanced Senior Member
  member is offline
![[avatar] [avatar]](http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb301/Pat13wx/tinkerbellfly.gif)
Joined: Mar 2009 Gender: Female  Posts: 2,338 Location: Essex
|  | Re: shtyle.fm is a scam « Reply #10 on Oct 29, 2010, 2:24pm » | |
Bring it on Barry
|
Jacqui |
|
|